That's using your brain!

Brain Drawing Contest
For the fifth year in a row, Morehead State University and Rowan County Schools have sponsored the Brain Drawing contest, which is part of the annual Brain Awareness Week. Each year the Dana Foundation promotes the week-long celebration of the brain to increase public awareness of the benefits and progress in the area of brain research. 

The Brain Drawing contest gets elementary students thinking about just how important their brains are.  The students’ drawings illustrate how they would complete various phrases, such as “My brain helps me…”, “My brain is special because …”, or “I keep my brain healthy by…” A team of representatives from both MSU and Rowan County Schools look over each drawing and score the entries. Dr. Ilsun White and Dr. Wesley White from MSU’s Psychology Department organize the event to help students get a better understanding of just how important and complex the brain truly is. 

Parents and students gathered in the auditorium on the 4th floor of Reed Hall for the awards presentation. Dean Gerald DeMoss, dean of the College of Science and Technology, was on hand to congratulate each student and present them with their awards.
The awards are as follows:
FIRST PLACE: Brandon Murray, Kailey Smith, Maggie Alden, Nikki Skaggs, Shyanna Dawn Morrison, Stacy Wilson;
SECOND PLACE: Aden Collingwood, Amy Anderson, George Thacker, Annabell McNeal, Brooke Blevins, Heather Fannin, Jon Jenkins, Jarrett Puckett, Starla Wilson;
THIRD PLACE: Jesni Noble, Isabella Poskas, Kaitlyn Barker, Summer Stevens, Skyler Toy, Mystic Chick, Alex Cox, Sarah Hallock;
FOURTH PLACE: Sydney Hallock, Jacinda Rivers, Jacob Barker, Hope Crose, Carmen Gamble, Faith Plank,Devin Stevens, Haley Forman, Ethan Jenkins, Kobe Tran, Jayden Slone, Brianna Wallace, Katie Bonney, Abby LeeAnn Caudill, Kinsley Eisenhour, Emily Hammonds, Andrew Fultz, Brenna Porter, Noah Tansil;
FIFTH PLACE: August Barker, Jazlyn Oakley, Braxton Terry, Landan Thomas, Sara Fannin, Luke Gagliano, Elizabeth Stamper, Madison Donovan, Savannah Hamilton, Andrew Stepp, Angela Caudill, Victoria Caudill, Ryan Combess, Emily Xu;
HONORABLE ACHEIVEMENT: Emma Scott, Aiden Johnson, Sara Hassan, Wyatt Glover, Conner Stamper, Anna Cornett, Grant Holbrook, Hailey Middleton, Ashley Sanchez, Shauna Saylor, Connor Wallace, Megan Seivers, Kaitlyn Clark, Zach Thompson, Brooklin Adams, Jayce Lynn Coldiron, Michael Kennedy, Haley Adkins, Ashley Blake, Claire Freidhof, Sierra Harrison, Kenseth Shropshire, Emma Stamper, Clay Thompson, Alexis Black, Riley Peyton, Jordyn Williams, Emily Baldridge, C.J. Branham, Zayda Greene, Tanner Mason, Kennealy Roberts, Hannah Baudreaux, Savannah Johnson.

Back to School News      Print News Article

Contact Us

Rowan County Schools
415 W. Sun Street
Morehead, KY 40351

View Map & Directions
Phone: (606)784-8928
Fax: (606)783-1011

Stay Connected