White, Diedrichsen, Stafford receive Excellence in Teaching Awards

Maria White, Nick Diedrichsen, Kayla Stafford - Excellence in Teaching Awards

Rowan County Schools is pleased to announce that three teachers have been awarded the Campbellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award.  This year’s award recipients are Maria White, elementary teacher at Clearfield Elementary School, Nick Diedrichsen, band director at Rowan County Middle School, and Kayla Stafford, English/drama teacher at Rowan County Senior High School. 


As the 2017 recipients of the Campellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award, Ms. White, Mr. Diedrichsen and Ms. Stafford were invited to be the guests of honor, along with their fellow award recipients from various school districts across the Commonwealth, at a luncheon on May 20, 2017 on the campus of Campbellsville University.  Teachers who receive the Excellence in Teaching Award come from both public and private schools across the Commonwealth.  At the luncheon, each award recipient was recognized and presented with a personalized certificate. 


Kelly Jones, Kentucky’s 2017 Elementary Teacher of the Year, was the guest speaker at the luncheon.  She urged the award recipients to that teaching is an important job, a hard job and a challenging job. She urged the teachers to “keep your passion for teaching” and added, “Students today need passionate and energetic influence in their learning and in their lives.” 


Jones, a 25-year teaching veteran, told the teachers to find their “great potential to be a positive influence for both your colleagues and your students.   I want to encourage Kentucky teachers to search ways to continually grow, go after your passions, step out and take risks and encourage your co-workers and students to do the same.”


Maria White, Nick Diedrichsen and Kayla Stafford were just three of the 190 teachers recognized and honored by Campbellsville University.  The Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to the teachers by Dr. Donna Hedgepath, vice president for academic affairs, and Dr. Beverly Ennis, dean of the School of Education.


The purpose of the Excellence in Teaching Awards is to recognize quality teaching in schools across the Commonwealth of Kentucky and to strengthen the field of education.  Since 1987, over 2,000 Kentucky teachers have received this prestigious award. Several criteria are examined during the selection process for the Campbellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award.  These criteria include applying energy and enthusiasm to the teaching assignment, using a variety of methods of effective instruction, applying imagination and originality in meeting students’ individual needs, and demonstrating efficient scheduling of time, thoroughness in handling assignments, and reliability. 


The selection committee also looks at how the candidate devotes time and energy to improving professional competence, helps others to gain professional competence, maintains a strong working relationship between the school and community, and exhibits professional integrity and cooperation.


Congratulations, Maria White, Nick Diedrichsen and Kayla Stafford.


Back to School News      Print News Article

Contact Us

Rowan County Schools
415 W. Sun Street
Morehead, KY 40351

View Map & Directions
Phone: (606)784-8928
Fax: (606)783-1011

Stay Connected